top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

What's the deal with Patch Testing? 

Patch Testing…..why is it necessary? We’ve all been there wanting to have a treatment done, getting excited about the results and then being told a Patch Test is needed before, que the disappointment or annoyance at this! I’m sure by now most people have said in response to being told this something along the lines of ‘oh I don’t need one I’ve never reacted to anything’ or ‘ I’ve had it done before ages ago do so I’ll be fine’ – am I right? Now as a Beauty Therapist I can say, and probably speak for a lot of my colleagues in the industry, it is also frustrating and annoying for us to have to say to you we MUST do a patch test, as we want to book you in and give you an amazing treatment, as well as the fact we are running businesses and want clients coming in. Let me explain why these Patch Test are so important: The treatments that need Patch test 24-48 hours before usually have chemicals or ingredients in them that are either high risk with regards to causing a reaction or are very strong. A lot of these treatments are also carried out on facial or eye areas so if there is a reaction things can go very wrong very quickly! Best case scenario if a reaction happens on the face is you having to deal with it until it goes away and take what ever tablets or use what ever cream the doctor has given you. Worse case? You can end up in hospital, with permanent damage and in a lot of pain. I’m sure no one wants either of these things to happen! There is a lot of conflicting information out there and things do change quickly in the Beauty industry, especially as this is a hot topic for both clients and Therapists, however if you are booking in for Tinting, Lash Extensions, Lash Lifting etc. you should be expecting to have a patch test and be told you need a patch test before the full treatment can be carried out. What does patch testing do? Patching testing literally tests the exact products to be used in the treatment on a small discreet area to see how you react to the products. The idea is that this will give both the Therapist and the client an indication on if the treatment is safe to do or if the client has any sensitivities/allergies to any of the products. How reliable is patch testing? Generally speaking patch testing is quite reliable, however I don’t personally think you can say it is 100% an indication on if a client would react, as occasionally a client will have a patch test, be fine and 48 hours later come in, and after being exposed to more product, or the product over a longer time frame, have a reaction. Also note that allergies can develop at any time, so while a patch test is generally pretty reliable you can then have a reaction at any time after, even if it isn’t until days, weeks or months later. Do I have to patch test every time I want the treatment done? This does vary slightly depending on the treatment and the individual Therapists insurance. I will patch test 24-48 hours before the original treatment and keep my records updated with any changes to the client’s health/medication history etc and repatch test if something comes up which may affect the client’s reaction to products, I’m using for them. I will also re patch test if I haven’t seen the client for the treatment in 3 months, as they haven’t been having the treatment regularly with me. What should I do if I’m not offered a patch test? To put it simply, if you know that a patch test should be offered or if your in doubt of if the treatment does or doesn’t require one…..ASK! Us therapists are human and sometimes we will forget, or we might even think you have been in for one. So just ask if a patch test is needed as you haven’t had the treatment with the salon before. Listen to their advice on it and make your choice on if to book or not. You can always request a patch test just to be confident before you go ahead! What if I’m not offered a patch test? As I’ve said above, you are always entitled to ask for a patch test, I would never refuse to patch test for any treatment I offer, if it gives the client peace of mind before booking, and I cant think of anyone I know in the industry who would! If you ask for a patch test and are refused/told they don’t do them I personally wouldn’t be booking my treatment with that person/salon! Hope that information has been helpful and maybe cleared up why us Beauty Therapist say we need to do patch test!


4 views0 comments
bottom of page